26 Nov 2016
Gayhurst Under 8 Tag Rugby Festival 2016

On Saturday 26th November Gayhurst held their annual Under 8 Tag Rugby Festival. 10 teams took part in the festival playing two round robin style competitions, with all teams playing 4 games in total and the winners of the festival being decided on the number of tries scored across the morning.

The Gayhurst U8 squad of Kane O'Connor, Benji Orr-Ewing, Zac Peters, Zac Watson, Josh Feinberg, Josh Waldergrave, Leo Marchant, Oliver Kilflbourne and Robbie Borwick started the morning in tremendous fashion beating Caldicott 55-40 in an enthralling contest. The second fixture was against Belmont where the Gayhurst boys were once again victorious winning 50-20, with the team demonstrating some super off-loads.

The third fixture of the morning was the local derby against Davenies. Unfortunately the boys were caught a little cold in the first half, with missed tags and handling errors costing them dearly. The second half began with a renewed energy and the boys fought back bringing the scores very tight towards the end. However, unfortunately with time against them and a well organised defence from Davenies the Gayhurst players could not quite make up for their first half performance, losing 55-40.

The final match of the day against UCS A brought about an opportunity for Gayhurst to win the tournament on the number of tries scored. At the beginning of the match Gayhurst needed 12 tries to match St Johns Northwood on tries scored and the boys did not disappoint. The boys came flying out of the blocks, offloading quickly and taking the ball at pace, causing the UCS A defenders all sorts of problems. The match finished with a final score of 65-45 with Gayhurst scoring 13 tries, one more than the required number to win the tournament.

Special thanks must go to the year 6 boys for helping scoring and handing out programmes. To Mr Kearns, Mr Bushnell, Mr Harris and Mr Long for refereeing all of the fixtures, to Mrs Hall for scoring, to Mr Robb for being a fantastic MC and to Mr Mills for providing a superb playing surface.